RANDY NEWMAN – Roll With the Punches: The Studio Albums (1979- 2017)

RANDY NEWMAN – Roll With the Punches: The Studio Albums (1979- 2017)

  • €150,00
    Unit price per 
Tax included.

8LP – Limited Edition Vinyl Boxset
(Only 1300 copies pressed.)


The seven studio albums from 1979-2017, including Bad Love which is on vinyl for the first time, all pressed on black vinyl and together as part of RSD Drops.

After starting his songwriting career as a teenager, Randy Newman began recording as a singer and pianist in 1968 with his self-titled album. Throughout the 1970s he released several other acclaimed albums such as: 12 Songs, Sail Away, and Good Old Boys. In addition to his solo recordings and regular international touring, Newman began composing and scoring for films in the 1980s. The list of movies he has worked on since then includes The Natural, Awakenings, Ragtime, all three Toy Story pictures, Seabiscuit, James and the Giant Peach, A Bug’s Life, and most recently, Disney/Pixar’s Monsters University, the prequel to Monsters Inc. (which he also scored).

Randy Newman’s many honors include six Grammys, three Emmys, and two Academy Awards. He was inducted into the Songwriters Hall of Fame in 2002 and the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 2013—the same year he was given an Ivor Novello PRS for Music Special International Award. Mostly recently, Newman was presented with a PEN New England Song Lyrics of Literary Excellence Award in June 2014.

The highly praised 2008 Harps and Angels was Newman’s first album of new material since 1999. The Austin Chronicle wrote “the characters are memorable, the satire sharp, the music luxurious, and the arrangements maybe the most gorgeous in all pop music.” It was followed in 2011 by Vol. 2 of the Songbook series and a live CD and DVD recorded at London’s intimate LSO St. Luke’s, where he was accompanied by the BBC Concert Orchestra conducted by Robert Ziegler.


This eight-disc set compiles his seven albums released between 1979-2017, and will be similar to the 2017 box set release, Lonely at the Top: The Studio Albums, 1968–77.

The featured albums are:

Born Again (Reprise, 1979),
Trouble in Paradise (Reprise, 1983),
Land of Dreams (Reprise, 1988),
Randy Newman’s Faust (Reprise, 1995)
Bad Love (first vinyl release, previously released by DreamWorks in 1999),
Harps and Angels (Nonesuch, 2008) and
Dark Matter (Nonesuch, 2017)